Artificial Intelligence

>>> Just dig a hole


Annoyance of the Day: Tests in general
Listening to: He needs me - Popeye
Feeling: Like sleeping all day and covering up my head

Man, interviews are never, ever the same.

You have overly over interviews where they need fingerprints, blood tests and signing off your first child.

Then you have those meek, hi, bye ... here's your hat, what's your hurry type.

Then you have the ones like I had today. The WHAT THE FUCK interview.

Where you're boggled and can't really read into whatever the hell just happened. You're left feeling... well ... what the fuck-ish.

So I go in at 11 - and get there early enough that I wait in the lobby for a bit. The place smells the same as when I worked there and not much as changed. I wonder if anyone recongizes me.

So my interviewer comes and we shake hands and she leads me to this dinky small interview room - note this room is the room I interviewed for a staff writer about 3 years ago, how ironic - anyway she's going on and on about me working for that cruiseline that shall remain nameless due to lawsuits and bs ... it's the RAT company.

Anywho, she gabs about it, drools over it and flips through my portfolio and we talk a bit on stuff and she flips through my newspapers from my old job and asks me just a bit about it. Just like someone would off the street - but not indepth as you would think.

So she's like "do you have time for a copy editing test? I guess I should've told you about it yesterday...ha ah!"

I say "yes" ... and she gives me a six page test of HELL. Due to prior knowledge and a very good letter about what I should concentrate on, my connection has already told me that the test should be 30 to 45 mins and no longer.

So I time myself and get to work on spelling and crossing out words and putting in puncuation and then there is a geography/history part and I'm like WHAT THE FUCK-Ing the whole time. And speaking of time, I'm watching my clock and get done in about 40 minutes. And then recheck the damn thing and feel like I'm going to toss my cookies in this small ass room.

So after that, she's like "have you filled out an application form?" So I fill that out.

Then I'm there and she's sputtering for words and I'm like no way, this can't be the end of this interview, she didn't really ask me my three strenghts and my weaknesses and all that jazz.

So she says, "well we'll grade your test and this week HR is booked, so next week we'll call you...."

WHAT!?

I say ... so you'll call me either way won't you?

She says Yes ... and she says thanks for coming in, I'll walk you to the door. She says some stuff about the cruiseline and I'm like it's great to see you and she's like ... well bye.

And now I'm like, remembering all the things I screwed up on with that test. How come I can think clearly on it now?

I don't know, but next week will be the KILLAR. I mean what if she says, sorry hun, you didn't pass.

Oh my gawd, just dig a hole and bury me up.



posted by Jennifer @ 12:57 p.m. on 2004-08-19
Leave a
note

navigate <<<
> journal <
before
after
newest
archives
> info <
profile
> contact <
notes
email
> credits <
design
brushes
host