Artificial Intelligence

>>> Hinderence


Annoyance of the Day: Shopping and feeling fat
Listening to: Maroon 5 - Sweetest Goodbye
Feeling: Damn I need to lose weight

Not more than five minutes after I posted Tuesday did I get a call for an interview.

Not just any interview.

AN interview at my old paper! WHOO HOO

Thanks to my connection, who told me to email the interviewer, did I finally get off my duff and contact her.

I emailed her and sent my website and asked what was going on with the job.

So she called and Thursday at 11 am I have my interview! I'm a bit nervous because I have to take a copyediting TEST.

My contact told me about a girl who took it and took three hours on it! It's supposed to be completed in 30 to 45 minutes!

He said a boy took it in 45 mins. here or there.

I'm like fuck. I haven't studied AP style or even copy edited a thing in a long time.

I'm not good in grammar, I don't know sentence structure, but I know when it sounds wrong, or if it's misspelled and my AP style is pretty good - albeit I'm not keen on how they want some words spelled.

So today I studied at Borders with a few books and also looked at some interviewing booklets and have been taking tests on the internet for AP and grammar style.

It's very hard. Very very hard. Trust me, there is just so much that there is to the English language. The tests I take, have taught me A LOT so far. Really, who, whom, a, an ... writing out dates and the like...yeah I've been studying all of that.

Lucky for me, I'm not going into this with eyes wide shut. I'm thankful, so thankful my connection told me about the copyediting TEST or else I would've gone in and probably done worse off.

I'm just reading through the newspaper and looking at their style ... how they write stuff. Like quoting ... I always write something like...

"That's stupid!" said Jennifer.

It should be: "That's stupid!" Jennifer said.

Things like that, those little things, are the things that nip you in the bud. I'm hoping the test isn't that long - not like a WHOLE two page article. Come on now!

I'm hoping they toss in stupid ones like ... have someone not spell out numbers ... or put the dateline in lowercase....

I'm more nervous about the test. But am happy to see the lady who is interviewing me because I haven't seen her in like four years! Back then I was very quiet, meek Jenny. Now I'm more talkative, a bit more sarcastic as well.

I also went and bought some clothes today. Yeah with money (mon-ay) I don't have. But fuck, it's stuff I'm wearing to my interview!! I'm hoping I get this job because if I don't ...then ... I don't know what.

Really.

I don't know what I will do. I know I shouldn't base it all on this job. Put all my chips down with no fall backs. But for the time being, it's all that I can do.

I know deep inside, that if I don't get this job, then that's that. Then I'd better go back to Michigan.

Though I'm used to the area and don't want to have to go back.

So God PLEASE (and thank you for the job interview) God PLEASE LET ME GET THIS JOB!

I'm really trying for this one and really really am going to try my darnest to woo them.

Hell I'm going to do a "job interview" spell tonight. I know that's daffy, but it's just lighting a candle and making a good luck talisman to take with me. I know it's probably hooey, but at least it'll calm me a bit.

A lot is riding on tomorrow and right now I feel scared about the test because at my connection said ... if you don't do well on it ... then obviously you won't get a call back. My mom read that passing that test is 90% of getting the job ....

I think I might ask the "how many other candidates are there?"

Something, anything. I just want to pass and wow them and just just just get the job and just just just get on with my life.

I also need to exercise more. I exercised Monday but didn't yesterday or today. Duh. I'm also going to start taking TrimSpa (I know, I know) ... just for a bit because I've read that it works really well - one of the best diet pills out there. Truthfully my eating is OUT of control. I just can't live like this anymore. I just want to lose 10 pounds and just feel good about myself.

I know...I know....

Oh well I'll update tomorrow after my interview - please pray for me.

I just have this sinking feeling - that feeling like I'm going to blow it. Call it self doubt, because right now, I feel like I haven't done enough. But hell you can't learn all of the english language in's and outs in one sitting. I'm doing what I can and tomorrow will study some more before I go.

It's probably hindering me somehow. LOL that is my life.



posted by Jennifer @ 7:53 p.m. on 2004-08-18
Leave a
note

navigate <<<
> journal <
before
after
newest
archives
> info <
profile
> contact <
notes
email
> credits <
design
brushes
host