Artificial Intelligence

>>> Clearing it up


Annoyance of the Day:
Listening to:
Feeling:

I can't sleep in anymore, friggin dog. He woke me up at 9:30 and I didn't want to even get up till 10 ish.

Oh well.

***

To clear up what I said yesterday about accents:

I don't mind dealing with accents, as I've worked with folks with accents before, I love accents. English, german, chinese, Aussie, New Englander's ... some are just interesting to hear and you want them to talk more even.

I just hate when you get a person who thinks they know English and is completely incoherent. Then they get pissed at you when you're asking "pardon me?" "what?" "Sorry, I don't understand what you're saying."

Or when you're trying to have a conversation with someone who is completely incoherent because they understand you and you're left asking "what!?", it's so umcomfortable.

I don't know if they realize how accents really through off the pronunction of English words.

I took spanish in college and I know it's hard to learn languages. I always had my prounication off and my teacher, from Spain, was constantly asking me "que?" or what? So I know both ends of this debate.

I know it's hard for them, and I hear English is the hardest language to learn due to all our slang, but when someone talks to you in garbled tongue, they might as well try it in their own language.

I speak from experience here as I did work with many many folks from around the world once before.

But alas as my Linguistics class taught me, we ALL have accents, so I'm sure I'm just as annoying to those from different countries. And when you can't communicate with someone, that's just annoying as hell.

So I'm not against folks with accents, or else why would I be taking this job where Americans are the minority if I didn't like foreigners.

***

I really hate explaining myself, but sometimes you have to.

Like yesterday, my boss made me re-write my column because he didn't like how I made him sound in it.

He totally didn't understand what I was getting at in it. But I re-wrote it to make him happy. He was as nutty as squirrel shit yesterday and said he still couldn't believe I was leaving.

I wanted to stay, stop making me feel bad, shouldn't you be happy I'm bettering myself? Getting a better job, job of a lifetime deal?

I mean he looked like a kid throwing a tantrum and was quiet sometimes and red-faced and stand-offish. He didn't even eat any of my going away cake.

Er. Okay.

***

So today I'm going to the laundry matt and going to Kmart and going to the grocery store.

And going to shovel, yuck. Pooks is coming Saturday to pick me up and I cleaned the house a bit more.

I still can't believe how lovely the carpet looks after I scrubbed it in places and used that weriod form stuff you just spray on, sit for 15 mins then vaccume off. It was lovely.

Oh well, my computer keeps bombing out from my graphics card, so I'm installing a new driver, and I'm hoping it won't crash my computer. That happend before, that bastard graphics card.

I just hope my luck gets better because everytime I hear from Dizzy there is another fire to put out. Something else that has gone wrong, or something I must do. It's getting to be positively annoying because I'm tired of the worry and fretting.

And by GOD why in the hell did they stick me on a connecting flight. Oh my, I've never been to North Carolina, but I'm guessing I'll find out how it is as I will be there for about 2 hours I believe.

Oh my.



posted by Jennifer @ 9:46 a.m. on 2004-01-09
Leave a
note

navigate <<<
> journal <
before
after
newest
archives
> info <
profile
> contact <
notes
email
> credits <
design
brushes
host