Artificial Intelligence

>>> Waiting


Annoyance of the Day:
Listening to:
Feeling:

It's lunchtime at the office, so that means everyone is gone with the exception of myself and usually one or two other people.

The tones just went off on the police scanner, this voice that is so familiar comes on and says a man is calling for help from his apartment, there are no keys to this residence, so they might have to break down this door.

I hate that scanner, I hear horrible things happen everyday, the tones hurt my ears and give an instant headache.

We all sit here in this office and ignore it, but everyone hears it.

We hear how a woman was found by her daughter, cold and blue. DOA.

We hear how a two year old has rashes all over her body.

So we sit here and ignore it.

I'm really starting to get cranky as I sit here and have all this tedious work I do - I think to myself that by next week it will be done, and everyone will be happy because they didnt' have to do it.

I sit here thinking about the new employee - this old man who walks quietly through our office, and how he must feel.

I think of myself as the new person somewhere, afraid to mess up the print, take to long at the copier and not knowing where the bathroom is, where to go for lunch, what is a normal day here.

My sister flew down to Florida today with her boyfriend and I'm completely jealous.

I keep thinking of shopping in Downtown Disney, which is what they will be doing, but not before they go to their resort to drop off the luggage, then it's to the Downtown, maybe even a dip in the pool is needed.

Then it's six days of park hopping, ride going, shopping, shows, fireworks, lovely foods and the excitement of little children.

Not to mention he's never been there before, which makes it so special to show someone something they've never seen before.

So I sit here grumbling, when is my vacation, why can't I go somewhere other than here?

My 'vacation' is in August, the second week, where my sister comes up and I take that week off and spend it at home doing nothing all day, then regretting that I took that time off probably.

Actually I'm working Sunday and Monday, then taking Tues. through Thurs. off.

I'll have a day waiting for me, so that'll mean I'll only use up two vacation days.

Leaving me with five days.

I'm thinking of my hopeful resume on it's way to Lincolnwood. It's probably, I'd say, maybe on an airplane to O'Hare right now, or maybe it's still in Traverse City awaiting it's departure.

I'm sure it feels hopeful and then when it graces the hands of the hopeful future employer, it will either be shredded, filed or maybe set on a desk with a note that says, call this one.

But I don't feel all that hopeful anymore, it's hard to face the truth sometimes that it's a bad world we're living in and sometimes you have to wait for things.

It's not easy for me who's waited for a year and a half.

I have to go - work calls I might update later!



posted by Jennifer @ 11:10 a.m. on 2003-07-17
Leave a
note

navigate <<<
> journal <
before
after
newest
archives
> info <
profile
> contact <
notes
email
> credits <
design
brushes
host