Artificial Intelligence

>>> Skipping around in my career


Annoyance of the Day:
Listening to:
Feeling:

What a boring day I had, I'm actually HAPPY to go to work tomorrow.

Today I did absolutely nothing. I didn't even go outside today. I did walk onthe treadmill and found the matt on it is rubbing on the side making a very ANNOYING sound, so my dad will have to fix it. I can only walk 30 mintues before I want to pull my ears off, I cranked up my stereo and still heard the sound, sooo damn that really bites. I might opt for running for real and then my 30 min run would be something.

Oh well, I also bought some tanning lotion on the net, $40 for this starter kit that is supposed to be a good brand. So my credit card is probably around hm...$400? Damn. I was doing alright too, I will have to ease my spending, which I have very much so except for my recent expendures of clothes on the net (that consquently didn't even FIT ME, fuck!) Anyway, I don' tknow anything else I'm itching to buy.

My birthday is coming up in nearly 2 weeks, my parents got me a body fat scale and are taking me clothes and shoe shopping on my bday. My friend is getting me new New Balance running shoes, ooh hot shit I just looked in my bank account and I have a little over a thousand, which is rare. lol Yet I still have a visa payment coming and my car payment ala $350 ... shit my payment should be coming for that too..oh well I'm not that worried, I am trying to save some money and I am doing pretty good. But I also have to buy my own food and gas still which takes a lot out.

I was looking at Atkin's shit today, and it seems good and bad, I ready a billion reviews, some love it, some hate it. I can see it will be VERY hard, no carbo's? I think I can do that, considering I don't really eat that much anyway, breakfast is my only worry, lunch will be a salad most likely. Maybe tuna, or chicken salad, something. I dunno. I'll have to see. It would be nice to lose weight fast like that.

Oh well, tomorrow I have to go to work early, though I don't want to, it's just ... I'm getting tired of working my butt off early and my boss getting mad because I leave early then. I go in at 8 and then leave at 5:30, when I should leave at 5. I do this because of the LOOKS he gives me if I try to leave. There work ethic here is over the top, you work extreme over time and never write it on your time sheet. That's not how my work ethic is. I work my desinated hours and then leave, I am not working over time and NOT getting paid for it. I guess they don't think I'm that involved or throwing myself into my job, but at the same time, I don't want to get burned out. Since now I am more of a paginator than a reporter, I am a bit timid because I feel like my boss thinks I don't do enough, he seriously makes me feel like a bad worker, though I'm not.

He is quick to point out my faults and what I do wrong. One week I'm his darling, the next week I'm hell sent.

How can I deal with a boss like this? Well, now I ignore him and take what he says with a grain of salt. I can't overly please him, and I laugh when he kisses my butt when he puts me out on an assignment that sucks ass.

Yes, I'm the new employee so I must pay with shitty jobs, and in my eyes I think when I request a day off, or even a half day, I don't see the problem, not when I'm a "yes girl."

This really grates on my mind and it's hard to even talk to my boss, he's older and has no memory (literally) he gets confused and slurrs his speech, so it's not even worth it half the time.

So I get through my days sometimes by ignoring him and being my own boss.

That's how I am anymore, I work and do my own thing, if he hollars, then he hollars, he can't fire me because, who would they have to paginate?

That's all that I am anymore, just a lowly paginator, sitting there on my ass all day, and clicking a mouse button. From 8 to 3 I am clicking, clicking, clicking. Inside I'm thinking, thinking, thinking, how to get out of here.

I'm not homesick anymore, I am just tired of my boss, the people around here. I feel it's "not the right fit." And when my boss looks at me sometimes, I believe he's thinking the same thing. When he sighed last time I screwed up a story (only because he said he explained it, then never did, and when asked gave me a "just put in this and this that's it." shit) anyway, he sighed deeply and looked at me with his yellow eyes he asked me how long I worked in my previous job as if I never work before and it was the first time I'd written an article.

"A few months," I said, knowing full well in my interview I told him I needed experience and then thinking only last week he was telling me my writting was up there with the top reporter.

How can I handle a boss with mood swings, anger outbursts, and like all Michigan people who want everything perfect all the time.

I'm tired of this, I complained about my last job, and how stupid I was. It was lovely there, I had so much freedom. My boss there was kind to me, when I messed up, we would talk about it, he would give me pointers.

How stupid I was to be such a bitchy baby. When, yes WHEN I get back to where I want to be, it will be good times, yet you have to say jobs have ups and downs, but the one I'm at, I feel more down then up, more stressed and walking and egg shells each day, how long can I handle that?

My boss thinks I go home so much becuase I'm looking for jobs. He is wrong, I have not gone home ONCE for an interview, yes I'm looking for new jobs, but I have never lied to him, and maybe this is why he treats me so, he thinks I'm ready to leave and that I don't like it here, I don't fit in, I tried and continue to try, but still, I will go on as I always do and do my best and take one day at a time, but he better be prepared for me to leave sooner than expected, I just cannot take him each day, let alone for a year. Thank god I have this type of choice in my life to be able to leave and skip around in my career.



posted by Jennifer @ 9:05 p.m. on 2002-06-02
Leave a
note

navigate <<<
> journal <
before
after
newest
archives
> info <
profile
> contact <
notes
email
> credits <
design
brushes
host