Artificial Intelligence

>>> Feminism? What's the deal?


Annoyance of the Day:
Listening to:
Feeling:

I had a pretty good day. Yesterday I wrote a brief and they published it -- I mean they only switched a few words around, and the rest was mine. It feels good they didn't majorly edit it, plus they put it on front page -- top section. I just wish my name was on it, but oh well, I'm more keen on writing briefs because it was a change and I stayed at work extra long to make up my hours.

Other than this, my college sent me a letter saying they got my resume and will keep it on file for six months. So I'm not sure if this is saying, thanks for the resume, you don't get an interview, or just saying thanks for the resume, we'll call you for an interview. I kept thinking of all the people that probably have years of secretarial experience and who won't be there for a short period - such as me Miss graduate who'd only work there for a short period probably. Oh well, if I get an interview, okay, if not, okay. I keep finding places to send my resume, so there is hope, in those places I suppose! I mean I'd rather wait and wait for a reporting job than a secretary job - where it has nothing to do with my degree. So I'm happily part time girl. At least it gives me time to work out and stuff -- ooh ahhh Jenny is losing weight. Though I've lost weight in my face, I have dark circles under my eyes, is this from weight loss???

OKAY NOW on to my new discovery. I was at Barnes and Nobles and found this magazine called BITCH, a feminist magazine. What caught my eye was an article about how fat people are now the last form of bigotry, the title also caught my eye...you don't see that to often, among all the nice titled magazines, Bitch, just seems to stand out. SO I read that article, and really liked it, I liked the other articles, though some a bit crazy and not really interesting. But what really got me, was that feminism and lesbianism. They had some pictures of girls kissing, and I wondered if this is really has anything to do with Feminism. It's like they are justifying the stereotype and me as a straight girl, seeing this, is a turn off. I mean nothing personal, but I don't want to be seen as a butch man-hater while reading this. Maybe I am justifying that stereotype with my observations, but I WAS going to buy that magazine but all that lesbian shit really turned me off on it. Even in their book section they had lesbian books -- I mean is feminism universal with lesbianism? Do I have to read feminist stuff in the proverbial closet? It really bothered me. So I asked another feminist magazine about this topic -- that mag is called cuntzilla. (I personally hate that word "cunt" very nasty, even IF it means something else -- there is a book called cunt that is supposed to be very feminist.)

Oh well, it's just another thing I like to learn about, I might write an essay on this for that magazine - if they let me and don't think I'm anti-feminist. I guess I'm just semi-femi because I don't totally agree with what they say, but the fat issues, hell yes, I agree very much on. They said the fat culture is a feminist issue now.

I guess it's something to think about ...



posted by Jennifer @ 3:34 p.m. on 2002-01-15
Leave a
note

navigate <<<
> journal <
before
after
newest
archives
> info <
profile
> contact <
notes
email
> credits <
design
brushes
host